The leading state medical colleges in Lahore have removed the admission rate for applicants from provinces other than Punjab and added it to the open merit category.

These colleges are included in this change. King Edward Medical College University, Allama Iqbal Medical College (AIMC), Fatima Jinnah Medical University (FJMU), Service Institute of Medical Sciences (SIMS), and Ameer-ud-Din Medical College.

After the enrollment quota ended, the FJMU added 47 seats to the open performance category, the KEMU added eight seats, the AIMC added nine, the SIMS added 18 and the Ameer-ud-Din Medical College added three seats.
Applicants from the other provinces will now compete for admission to Lahore medical schools in the open merit category. While this development will be beneficial for local applicants, it will be a setback for applicants from the other provinces